The board of trustees

The Board of Trustees reflects the RAG-Stiftung’s involvement in politics and society. Membership of the Board of Trustees is not regulated in the same way as that of the supervisory boards in the private sector of the economy. The RAG-Stiftung’s Board of Trustees has to involve important individuals from the fields of politics as well as management and labour who have a major impact on the future of Germany’s coal-mining regions. As a result, representatives from these fields are appointed to the Board of Trustees.

The Board of Trustees appoints the foundation’s Board of Executives and supervises the management of the foundation’s business activities. It must be informed about decisions that are of fundamental importance to the foundation. It has five ex officio members and nine additional members.

The ex officio members are as follows (in the order given in the foundation’s statutes):

The nine additional members are each appointed for a period of up to five years. The Chairperson of the Board of Trustees is elected from the group of additional members. The Board of Trustees’ composition is regulated by the foundation’s statutes. The Board of Trustees has the following members:

The members of the Board of Trustees


Dr. Jürgen Großmann Shareholder Georgsmarienhütte Holding GmbH (additional member, since 2012)

Ex officio members (in the order given in the foundation’s statutes):

Armin Laschet MP of North Rhine-Westphalia, Premier of the State of North Rhine-Westphalia (since 2017)
Tobias Hans MP of Saarland, Premier of the State of Saarland (since 2018)
Olaf Scholz Federal Minister of Finance (since 2018)
Peter Altmaier Member of the German Bundestag, Federal Minister of Economic Affairs and Energy (since 2018)
Michael Vassiliadis (Deputy Chairman), Chairman of the Mining, Chemical and Energy Industrial Union (since 2009)

Additional members:

Martin Albers Chairman of the Working group of Works Councils in the RAG-Stiftung and Chairman of the General works council at Evonik Industries (since 2020)
Dr.-Ing. Burckhard Bergmann former Chairman of the Management Board of E.ON-Ruhrgas AG (since 2012)
Thomas Kufen Mayor of the City of Essen (since 2017)
Prof. Dr. Norbert Lammert former President of the German Bundestag (since 2017)
Heiko Maas Federal Minister of Foreign Affairs (since 2015)
Hildegard Müller President of the German Association of the Automotive Industry (since 2020)
Dr. Andreas Reichel Member of the Board of Management of STEAG GmbH (since 2017)
Barbara Schlüter Chairwoman of the General Works Council and the Group Works Council of RAG Aktiengesellschaft (since 2020)

Board of Executives of the RAG-Stiftung

Statutes of the RAG-Stiftung